Slotkin wins 8th Congressional; Democrats to control U.S. House

Print More

U.S. Congress

Mike Bishop

Elissa Slotkin

Republican Mike Bishop battled with Democrat Elissa Slotkin to keep his seat in the U.S. House, but conceded shortly before 1 a.m., even before the race was called, as the chamber fell to Democratic control.

Slotkin beat Bishop led by less than 1 percentage point.

The battle over the 8th congressional district was one of several tight races attracting national attention as Democrats fought to take control of the House.

Republicans had a 23-seat majority going into the election.

Elsewhere in the state, Democrat Haley Stevens bested Republican Lena Epstein in the 11th district. Incumbent Republicans Paul Mitchell, John Moolenaar, Justin Amash, Bill Huizenga and Jack Bergman defended their seats, as did Democrats Debbie Dingell and Brenda Lawrence. Democrat Andy Levin was elected to take over the seat held by his father, U.S. Rep. Sander Levin.

As of midnight Tuesday, Republican incumbents Fred Upton and Tim Walberg held slim leads over their challengers, Democrats Matt Longjohn and Gretchen Driskell.

Evan Jones and Hikaru Kudo contributed to this report.

Comments are closed.