New trustees face challenges at Michigan State

Print More

Voters will elect two new faces to the Michigan State University Board of Trustees on Tuesday.

Kelly Charron Tebay

MSU Democratic trustee candidate Kelly Charron Tebay

Mike Miller

MSU Republican trustee candidate Mike Miller

MSU Republican trustee candidate Dave Dutch

MSU Democratic candidate Brianna Scott

MSU Democratic candidate Brianna Scott

The top two vote-getters will replace incumbent Republican Trustees Brian Breslin and Mitch Lyons, who did not run for re-election. Trustees are elected to eight-year terms.

Candidates include Democrats Kelly Charron Tebay and Brianna Scott, Republicans Dave Dutch and Mike Miller, and six third-party candidates.

The new trustees will face a variety of challenges, including fallout from the Larry Nassar sex abuse scandal and a presidential search.

“I think the most important issue right now is definitely transparency and accountability,” Michigan State sophomore Chloe Peter said. “It might be too late to fix sexual assault issues that have happened in the past, but the board should be up front about that, acknowledge their mistakes and make sure nothing like this happens in the future.”

Trustees and university administrators have been criticized for their handling of the Nassar scandal. More than 250 people have accused Nassar of sexual assault. He is serving federal and state prison sentences.

“The main issue I’m concerned with is having trustees who listen to students and who are honest,” junior Paige Francis said. “I want them to keep students updated and not cover anything up. The protection of students should be their highest concern.”

Junior Michael Beckett said trustees have a responsibility to care for and promote the Spartan brand.

“With everything that happened last year with Nassar, I believe our reputation has been damaged and I think we need to rebuild it,” Beckett said. “Because of our previous administration, the safety of students has been lacking, and trustees need to address that.”

Comments are closed.